On The World Tigers Day, Here Are A Few Amazing Facts & Pics

 

Let’s celebrate the beauty of Big Cat today. 29th July is renowned as International Tiger Day 🐯 This day is an annual celebration to raise awareness on Tiger conservation.
Tiger – National Animal of India. Scientific name: Panthera tigris.
India has around 70 percent of the tiger population in the whole world. Our country has observed a remarkable increase in wildlife ever since killing and selling of tiger’s skin was banned. Tiger is a powerful icon of India’s cultural and natural heritage and it’s survival has been a top priority for WWF(World Wildlife Fund).
So, we felt that this is the good time to get to know about some of the amazing facts along with some of the best wildlife photographers from Telugu states 🐅:

 

1. Tigers are the largest wild cats in the world and can leap forward 20 – 30 feet in one jump.
Captured by Ujval Pasupuleti (ujval37)


 

2. Adult tigers can weigh up to 363kg and can live for about 25 years.
Captured by Masood Hussain (masood_hussain)


 

3. Every tiger in the world is unique – no two tigers have the same pattern of stripes.
Captured by Sanjeev Siva (i_sanjeevsiva)


 

4. A group of Tigers are called an ambush or streak
Captured by Mayur Dharod (mayurdharod)


 

5. Tigers generally search for food alone at night. It is estimated that tiger hunts are only successful about one in every 10 to 20 attempts.
Captured by Anjani singamaneni (anjani.singamaneni)


 

6. Tigers have large, padded, feet that make it easier for them to silently stalk their prey.
Captured by Ajeet Gurditta (ajeet_gurditta)


 

7. Tigers do not live in permanent groups like lions do. For the most part, they live solitary lives
Captured by Santosh Edupuganti (santosh_edupuganti7)


 

8. Unlike most members of the cat family, tigers like water. They are good swimmers and love to play in pools or streams.
Captured by Max Ali (max.ali.338)


 

9. When a tiger wants to be heard, you’ll know about it, because their roar can be heard as far as three kilometres away.
Captured by Ismail sheriff (ismailshariff)


 

10. Tigers do not normally view humans as a prey
Captured by Pallavi Laveti (wild_in_raw)


Article cover picture is also cicked by Pallavi 😊

 

11. They may be big and heavy, but tigers are by no means slow movers. In fact, at full speed they can reach up to 65km/h!
Captured by Aman Wilson (amanwilson)


 

12. Tiger cubs are born blind and only half of the cubs survive
Captured by Jitender Govindani (jitendergovindani)


 

13. A tiger’s tail is about three feet long and helps them balance when making tight turns
Captured by Suresh kulur (sureshkulur)


 

14. Female tigers are super moms. After a gestation period of a little more than three months, they give birth to two to three blind cubs.
Captured by Pavan Sakaram (pavansakaram)


 

15. A Tiger’s hind legs are longer than its front legs.
Captured by Dr.Arunkumar (arunkumarnalimela)


 

We found all these 15 great photographers and conservationists in our research. Kudos to all these wonderful photographers for their patience, timing and most importantly the love towards Wildlife .
Tiger numbers to be announced today by the PM and good news is expected (raise in their number)🐅. Many of the tigers are abused, mistreated and killed by poachers. And the forest is shrinking day by day, number of challenges are faced by these big cats. We as an individual can protect the tigers by spreading awareness amongst fellow beings, not throwing plastic/stop littering in forests, etc.. Check out wildlife_ap for some of the best shots clicked exclusively in Telugu states. DM me @saradasunil and let me know if there are any pictures of Tigers clicked in Telugu states (Amarabad, East Godavari, etc.). I could only find one (Number 7 above). Facts source: Internet. #worldtigerday

 

If you wish to contribute, mail us at admin@chaibisket.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,