Here’s The List Of All 44 Indian Members In Academy Of Motion Pictures From 2016-2019


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invited a total of 842 members from 59 countries to join the organization on July 1st. For the betterment of inclusion, diversity and equality in it’s members, the Academy’s 2019 invitees are 50% women & 29% people of color.


According to Variety, ‘ As it stands, the Academy counts 8,946 active members, with 8,733 eligible to vote on the Oscars. The total membership including retired members is 9,794. This year’s number falls short of 2018’s record of 928 invitations

From 2016-2019 a total of 44 Indian Artists, Writers, Directors, VFX supervisors, Costume designers, Producers have been invited & are a part of the Academy now. Lets have a look at them..


2019 – 6 Members

Actor: (1)


Anupam Kher – “Hotel Mumbai,” “The Big Sick”


Director: (1)

Zoya Akhtar – “Gully Boy,” “Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara”


Short Films & Feature Animation: (1)

Anurag Kashyap – “Madly,” “Bombay Talkies”


Writer: (1)

Ritesh Batra – “Photograph,” “The Lunchbox”


Visual Effects: (2)

Sherry Bharda – “Hichki,” “Sui Dhaaga: Made in India”


Srinivas Mohan – “2.0,” “Baahubali: The Beginning”


2018 – 20 Members

Actors : (8)


Madhabi Mukherjee – “The Big City,” “Charulata”


Soumitra Chatterjee – “Bridge,” “Days and Nights in the Forest”


Naseeruddin Shah – “The League of Extraordinary Gentleman,” “Monsoon Wedding”


Shah Rukh Khan – “Chennai Express,” “Devdas”


Madhuri Dixit – “Bucket List,” “Devdas”


Ali Fazal – “Victoria & Abdul,” “Furious 7”


Anil Kapoor – “Slumdog Millionaire,” “Taal”


Tabu – “Life of Pi,” “The Namesake”


Producers: (2)

Aditya Chopra – “Sultan,” “Veer-Zaara”


Guneet Monga – “The Lunchbox,” “Masaan”


Cinematographer : (1)

Anil Mehta – “Secret Superstar,” “Rockstar”


Costume Designers: (2)

Dolly Ahluwalia – “Haider,” “Vicky Donor”


Manish Malhotra – “Om Shanti Om,” “Kai Ho Naa Ho”



Debajit Changmai – “Court,” “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag”


Bishwadeep Chatterjee – “Madras Café,” “3 Idiots”


Production Designers: (2)

Subrata Chakraborty – “24,” “Haider”


Amit Ray – “Rangoon,” “Haider”



Ballu Saluja
– “Dangal,” “Touring Talkies”



Usha Khanna – “Khandala House,” “Ali Baba and 40 Thieves”


Sneha Khanwalkar – “Detective Byomkesh Bakshy,” “Gangs of Wasseypur”


2017 – 15 Members


Actors: (7)

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan – “Jodhaa Akbar,” “Devdas”


Amitabh Bachchan – “The Great Gatsby,” “Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham…”

LONDON, ENGLAND – JUNE 16: Amitabh Bachchan arrives at the World Premiere of Raavan at the BFI Southbank on June 16, 2010 in London, England. (Photo by Gareth Cattermole/Getty Images)


Priyanka Chopra – “Baywatch,” “Barfi!”


Aamir Khan – “3 Idiots,” “Lagaan”


Irrfan Khan – “Life of Pi,” “Slumdog Millionaire”


Salman Khan – “Sultan,” “Bajrangi Bhaijaan”


Deepika Padukone – “xXx: Return of Xander Cage,” “Piku”


Costume Designers : (1)

Arjun Bhasin – “Three Generations,” “Monsoon Wedding”


Directors: (2)

Goutam Ghose – “Dekha,” “Paar”


Mrinal Sen – “The Case Is Closed,” “In Search of Famine”


Documentary: (1)

Anand Patwardhan – “Jai Bhim Comrade,” “Pitra, Putra Aur Dharamyuddha (Father, Son and Holy War)”


Writers: (2)

Buddhadeb Dasgupta – “The Wrestlers,” “The Red Door”


Sooni Taraporevala – “Mississippi Masala,” “Salaam Bombay!”


Members At Large: (1)

Ujwal Narayan Nirgudkar– Film Processing & technical adviser for the National Heritage Mission.


Sound: (1)

Amrit Pritam Dutta – “Kochadaiiyaan,” “Slumdog Millionaire”


2016 – 3 Members


Actors: (2)

Freida Pinto – “Immortals,” “Slumdog Millionaire”


Sharmila Tagore – “Dhadkan,” “The World of Apu”


Directors: (1)

Deepa Mehta – “Midnight’s Children,” “Water”


If you wish to contribute, mail us at


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,